Friday, September 6, 2013

Santana – The Essential Santana 2CD (2013)

The 2013 Legacy compilation The Essential Santana shares many superficial similarities to their 2002 compilation.
It bears the same title, similar artwork - Carlos is looking to the right in 2002, to the left in 2013 - and several of the same songs, all arriving at the start: “Jingo,” “Evil Ways,” “Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen,” “Oye Como Va,” “Samba Pa Ti,” “Everybody’s Everything,” “Love, Devotion and Surrender,” “Stormy,” “Europa,” and “Winning,” which covers the late ’60s through the early ’80s.
After these ten songs comes the deluge of new millennial pop and blues, including the massive hits “Smooth” and “The Game of Love,” where Santana’s presence is almost incidental to the pop hooks sung by Rob Thomas and Michelle Branch, respectively. From there, this does dip back into the ’80s and ’90s for such cuts as “The Healer” and “Blues for Salvador.”
This is pretty much Carlos Santana in superstar mode, either playing duets or sliding into palatable blues/jazz fusion. There isn’t as much adventure here as there is on the 2002 set, but for pop-minded Santana fans, this is the way to go.


1. Jingo

2. Everybody’s Everything

3. Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen

4. Oye Como Va

5. Samba Pa Ti

6. No One To Depend On

7. She’s Not There

8. Evil Ways

9. Love Devotion And Surrender

10. Open Invitation

11. Stormy

12. Europa (Earth’s Cry Heaven’s Smile)

13. Winning

14. Soul Sacrifice (Live At Woodstock)



1. Smooth (Feat. Rob Thomas)

2. Maria Maria (Feat. The Product G&B)

3. Hold On

4. Make Somebody Happy

5. The Game Of Love (Feat. Michelle Branch)

6. Bella

7. The Healer (Performed by John Lee Hooker & Santana)

8. Somewhere In Heaven

9. Into The Night (Feat. Chad Kroeger)

10. Put Your Lights On (Feat. Everlast)

11. The Calling (Feat. Eric Clapton)

12. Blues For Salvador

13. Victory Is Won

14. The Game Of Love (Feat. Tina Turner)

No comments:

Post a Comment